FROM A DISTANCE – all the way from Seattle Barbara and family sing for me!

http://youtu.be/EhK4-14MuIY

ho ho ho folks just got to share this with you- it coems with a grab a tissue warning and a sing alonga join in feeling for all – received it last week have played it to everyone who enters house- nurses included- and Barbara and family are happy to share it

I met Barbara Burton when she was lured to Edinburgh back in 1990s  to study for a music PhD in socoloogy department- i soon convinced here with my usual persuasive slightly bullying – you go to so this – style – that while i would miss her gorgeous, vivacious presence never mind her exquisite piano playing (she was going to be a professional pianist but moved siadeways) that she would be bter off in Texas studying with the incomparavble Steven Feld who was my man of the moment- his insight in his peerless groundbreaking book Sound and Sentiment once made me fall off my bike as i cycled to the library to finish my PhD – he made me realise that just as  a man becomes a bird as they did in Papua New Guinea through the music bird ritual – that so for Chielan exile group Karaxú  MUSIC WAS RESISTANC

enjoy From a Distance which Barnara and i sang with my kids toroughout the early 1990s – Barbara  went to to study with Feld in Texas!!! never looked back… Steve appreciated the getsure even though i did not even know him then – B met her husband Jim there- it was meant to be!!  and B  sent me a Christmas compilation tape of her favourite music- lots of blues – and this song was first on the compilation

Enjoy!!

About Jan Fairley

I am an experienced and passionate ethnomusicologist working as an arts and music journalist and broadcaster, writer and editor as well as researcher, lecturer, radio presenter and producer. I have a breadth of organising experience at home and abroad. I am a fluent Spanish speaker. I love travelling and have worked abroad (notably Chile 1971-3 and again in 1994) and researched in Cuba, Spain, Brazil, Argentina, Finland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

